ANZAM is a professional membership academy, operating as a Company Limited by Guarantee.  It is a non-profit organisation.

The governing body of ANZAM is the Board of Directors which is chaired by the President with support from the President-Elect and Immediate Past President. The Board also includes a Secretary and Treasurer, elected representatives from five geographical regions across Australia and New Zealand, and two representatives for postgraduate students. In addition, there are co-opted members who provide specific expertise for special projects and sub-committees.

The President serves a one year term in this role which starts at the Annual General Meeting in December, and is succeeded by the President-Elect.

The ANZAM Board of Directors meets four times per year, typically in March, June, September and December. The Board meets with Institutional Member representatives twice a year, in June/July and at the ANZAM Conference in December. The Board also has a one-day Strategy meeting each year to consider ANZAM’s future direction and activities.

The ANZAM Board of Directors has a committee structure aligned with the strategy and priority goals for the academy. Each Committee has a Chair/Convenor and a workplan for the year which includes key projects and initiatives that are underway.

The 2017 ANZAM Committee structure and membership is shown below:

Education Committee

Portfolios:  Learning and Teaching, Career Development, Regional Activities

Dr Marilyn Clarke (Chair)
Professor Melanie Bryant
Dr Xiaowen Hu
Professor Ruth McPhail
Dr Geoff Plimmer

Membership Committee

Portfolios:  Membership Services, Outreach, Profile, Promotion

Professor Peter Holland (Chair)
Dr Justine Ferrer
Dr Dale Putland
Dr Theresa Smith-Ruig

Research Committee

Portfolios:   Research, Research Development

Professor Kevin Lowe (Chair)
Dr Tui McKeown
Associate Professor Sara Walton
George Bopi-Kerepa (Doctoral Representative)
Paulette Brazzale (Doctoral Representative)

Systems Committee

Portfolios:  Systems, Processes, Policies, Conferences

Professor Lee Di Milia (Chair)
Professor Kerry Brown
Associate Professor Bevan Catley
Dr Andrew Lux
Dr Stephanie Macht