2015 Saroj Parasuraman Award for the Outstanding Publication on Gender and Diversity

The GDO Division is currently inviting nominations for the 2015 Saroj Parasuraman Award for the Outstanding Publication on Gender and Diversity.  This annual award, honoring Saroj Parasuraman, is given to the author(s) of the publication in a refereed journal judged to have the highest potential to significantly impact our understanding of gender and diversity within organizations.

Only publications with a 2014 publication date will be considered.  Publications having multiple authors are acceptable.

Criteria for evaluation of publications include:

  • the degree to which the research addresses a phenomenon that is of significance to research in gender and diversity
  • the potential impact or significance of the publication on gender and diversity in organizations
  • the degree to which the research displays technical adequacy, including issues of internal validity, external validity, appropriate methodology, appropriate statistical analysis, and comprehensiveness of review (if the publication is a literature review).

Nominations may be made by any member of the Academy of Management.  The Award Subcommittee may also generate nominations.  Those evaluating the publications will be blind to the source of the nomination.

Nominations must be submitted by 15 April 2015.  Publications will be reviewed by a subcommittee of the GDO division, consisting of at least 3 members.  The subcommittee will make a recommendation to the Executive Committee about the award-winning publication and, if appropriate, a publication deserving honorable mention status.  The Executive Committee may either endorse or reject the recommendations of the subcommittee but may not substitute a nominee of its own.  In the absence of a publication that is deemed deserving of the award by both the Awards Subcommittee and the Executive Committee, the award may be withheld.

Please send nominations, including a copy of the nominated article, by email to:

Janet Barnes-Farrell
Chair, Parasuraman Award Committee
Email: janet.barnes-farrell@uconn.edu